Connect, Belong, Share, Grow..

Music at St Nicholas Church

Choirs of St Nicholas Harpenden 
Choir Members – click here

Contact : 
Click here to see our videos



There is a long standing choral tradition at St Nicholas.  A Boys’ Choir has flourished since at least the 1900s and our Girls’ Choir was founded in 2009.  Our excellent Adult Choir consists of talented Sopranos, Contraltos, Counter-Tenors, Tenors, Baritones and Basses.  We have six Choral Scholars aged 15-18.  The choirs sing at 9.30 Sunday Eucharist and 6.30 Choral Evensong and on Feast Days.


On Sunday 25 July our choir numbers will no longer be restricted by Covid regulations!  We will still be distanced and take precautions, but everyone can sing again.

On Sunday 6 June our under 18s – boys, girls and choral scholars – sang Choral Evensong at St Albans Cathedral.

Services and recordings can be seen and heard on our YouTube channel by clicking HERE, and the music lists are below.

JOIN US – New members always welcome!

Boys and Girls may join the choirs from the age of 7 and receive free musical and singing training, pocket money for attending, and fees for singing at Weddings!

Choristers move on to the adult section from about age 14 or when their voice changes.
The boys and girls rehearse and sing services both separately and together, with and without the adult choir.

There are no auditions for the junior choirs as children will learn ‘on the job’, but to join the adult section you will need to be able to read music competently.  More details about the choir, including how to join, are available from the Director of Music or you can DOWNLOAD our recruitment document.

We offer Choral Scholarships (by audition) to excellent singers/musicians aged 15 to 18.  These are worth £50 to £100 per term depending on attendance.  Contact the Director of Music to apply or for more details.

Marie Price joined us as Director of Music in 2018.

Our Organists are Chris Muhley and Hannah Gill.

The Church and Choirs are affiliated to the Royal School of Church Music.
For further info, visit the RSCM St Albans, Hertford & Bedford Area website


July 2021
Aug 2021

Click here to view previous Music Lists

Music Group and Orchestra

We have a Music Group who lead the worship at the 11.30 Morning Praise service every week.

We also convene an Orchestra on occasion for certain services, including the Crib Services on Christmas Eve.

If you are interested in joining the Music Group or Orchestra, contact the Director of Music who will connect you to the relevant people.

Organists and Directors of Music have included :

CB Kaye (around 1886)
ER Billingham (1897-1933)
HEW Sanders (1933-1940)
Connie Hogan (1940-1942)
J Loggie (1942-1943)
Stanley Bennett (1943-1944)
Stanley Milnes (1945-1970)
Victor Bowden and Mary Searby (1970-1972)
Michael Hammond (1972–75)
Robert Gower (1975-1976)
Charles Collins (1976–1981)
John Mower (1981-1983)
Norman Hurrle (1983)
Alan Boston (1983-1984)
Jonathan Walton (1984-1985)
Eric Pask (1981–2009)
Jonathan Eyre (2009–10)
Peter Hopkins (2011-2017)
Rob Bishop (2017-2018)
Alex Hall (2018-2019)